Mutual recognition

Applicants who have current teacher registration in Australia or in New Zealand may apply for registration in Tasmania under the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 or the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997.
The Teachers Registration Board of Tasmania recognises full or provisional registration (for the school sector) from the following regulatory authorities:

  • Education Council of Aotearoa New Zealand
  • Teacher Registration Board of the Northern Territory
  • Teachers Registration Board of South Australia
  • Queensland College of Teachers
  • Teachers Registration Board of Western Australia
  • Australian Capital Territory Teacher Quality Institute
  • Victorian Institute of Teaching**
  • New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA)***

Mutual recognition provisions only apply if we have an equivalent category of teacher registration: full or provisional registration for the school sector.